New York Fashion Week, Fall 2011: A List

Christian Siriano's gowns from my front row vantage point

I like to write lists. I have them all over the place: on my Blackberry, on random slips of paper, in my calendar/planner–which yes, is still paper. So I’m going to take the lazy way out and summarize New York Fashion Week in a top ten list. It’s in no particular order actually. Here goes:

Matthew McConaughey at the Heart Truth show

1.  Seeing the Heart Truth’s Red Dress Collection on the first day. It’s basically a parade of celebs wearing red dresses in support of heart disease prevention/awareness in women. The nurse in me can get behind that cause. Plus I saw Matthew McConaughey there because his wife was walking in the show. I bravely sauntered right up to him and snapped the side of his head. I totally could have chatted with him, but what does one say to such a man? “Oh, I see you’ve decided to wear a shirt for this occasion.” Seriously.

2.  The hot mess that was the Christian Siriano show. If any of you watched Project Runway you’ll remember how “ferocious” he was a few seasons ago on the show. He’s had a decent career, but his collection is still uneven. Plus the models couldn’t walk in his shoes AT ALL. One face-planted and several more stumbled. The shoes will be available at a Payless near you (maybe the one on Broadway near 95th?) Christian does a shoe collaboration with them. But no matter how crazy the show was, I had my only front row seat there. Seeing fashion up close is spectacular.

3.   Walking through the plaza at Lincoln Center everyday. It is the best people watching ever. I got my picture taken several times in appreciation of outfits I was wearing, which is always nice. Except for the photog who snapped me while I was munching on an apple. I’ve been desperately googling “fashion lady eating an apple” to no avail.

4.  Champagne, chocolates, and glam at the Plaza on Valentine’s Day for the Alice+Olivia show. It was very sparkly, plus there was a burlesque dancer. Perfect for Valentine’s Day.

Models in tableau at the Plaza for Alice+Olivia show

5.  The Adrienne Vittadini “Modern Muses” show. Adrienne Vittadini makes sort of fusty workwear, but they pulled a brilliant marketing maneuver by casting a bunch of old school models: Carol Alt, Niki Taylor, Carmen Dell’Orefice, Roshumba, and Frederique van Der Wal. They ranged in age from 35-79 and it was such a breath of fresh air to see women who look like women and not children.

6.  Bullshitting with the Lincoln Center security guards, who all look like they could have starred in the “Godfather.” They were such sweethearts to me, and several times let me sneak through forbidden doors to get to where I needed to go. I’m forever indebted.

7.   The shoes. Good lord, the shoes.

8.  I lost 5 pounds in 8 days because I was too busy running around to eat. Alas, 4 have returned.

9.  I got to go backstage at several shows. It’s complete chaos there, but with small moments of sweetness. Watching the models be transformed as if on an assembly line is juxtaposed with them reading Kindles and giggling with each other like the young women they are. Oh, plus there’s food backstage.

10. My kid saying to me at night “Mommy, did you go to a fashion show? You look pretty.”

Here’s a slideshow. Click to enlarge. Yes, I took the pictures. Sorry.

6 responses to “New York Fashion Week, Fall 2011: A List

  1. My husband and I got to go to Custo Barcelona even though only I had a ticket. We were a bit late–and thankfully the show had a late start as well so I actually made it. But my husband had to drop me off while I ran in. I got in no problem and didn’t even have to show them my invite. My husband, a really boring dresser, got stopped by the bouncers even when he showed them the email. They finally let him in, only after giving him a hard time. I guess they only like people dressed well?? Lol

  2. Oh, and I LOVEDD Alice + Olivia’s collection! Beautiful, super fab, and awesomely glittery. I loved that it was in the plaza, so old world aristocratic with a touch of baroque. But models on tables? I personally would be nervous to stand on a table in tottering heels but that’s just me.

  3. My personal highlight was getting to indulge my love of all things reality tv and meeting real housewives of ny star ramona. Lame? totally. But it was the best experience of the night apart from getting to see amazing clothes.

  4. Did you get any upclose pictures of the shoes?

  5. Anybody know who was the main sponsor of the event? P&G?

Leave a Reply

