Neon Is Trendy Now, Even on the Upper West Side

Photo: Proenza Schouler Spring 2011 Collection by Tommy Ton (on Jak and Jil)

For those of you *ahem* us, who were old enough to dress yourselves in the 80s, the thought of neon probably gives you convulsions. Not me! I have fond memories of the hot pink mesh hair bow that I tied around my huge permed hair. While most of my wardrobe now is black and grey, I’ve added a few neon things here and there. Nothing too cray-cray (I hate that expression and had to use it just once. I promise I’ll never do it again.)

Anyway, color is really fun to look at, especially in the summer.  And because I am nothing if not philanthropic, I’m giving you some neon options, all of which can be found here on the Upper West Side. Don’t be afraid–I’m prescribing very small doses. And even though fall clothes are starting to hit stores, I’m fighting against the retail cycle and still recommending summer clothes. Click through to see my colorful choices:

Here’s me wearing a neon necklace from Purdy Girl (464 Columbus, b/w 82nd and 83rd)

Neon patent leather belt from the Gap. I have the acidy yellow version, but I almost bought the orange, too. I saw it recently at the Gap on 86th and Broadway on sale.

If you don’t want to wear neon, you can put it in your bathroom. Get this limited edition Bath Bomb set in a Jon Burgerman (he’s a Brit cartoonist) tin. (At LUSH, 2165 Broadway at 77th).

Wear it on your eyes! I have this and looovvveeee the green. Givenchy LePrismissime Eyes Acid Lights, at Sephora.

I know Upper West Siders love their sneakers. Asics neon running shoes at Super Runners Shop.

Cashmere boyfriend tee, J.Crew (Columbus Circle, Time Warner Center). It is perfectly slouchy and will take you into fall, where I’m here to tell you…neon is still going to be a trend.

Leave a Reply

