An Open Letter to UWS Moms

Alexander Wang SS2010 runway look

Dear UWS Moms,

I know you’re all very busy, overwhelmed, and stressed out. I am, too. I work part-time, am doing an internship, and have two active boys. But I’d like to respectfully make a request.

Please stop wearing your workout clothes all day.

I know those Lululemon pants are comfortable. I know they make your ass look spectacular. But they’re doing nothing for your self-confidence.

And lest you think I’m being high and mighty, I wear my workout clothes to school drop-off at least 3 days a week. There are days when I want to just toss on another pair of sweats after a workout  or even just leave on what I wore to spin class that day. Ewww. Indeed, I did this for a solid year after my second son was born. I stopped succumbing to these urges.

It’s amazing what even a pair of jeans, cute top and some sassy shoes can do for your demeanor. You can still be comfortable without looking like a hot mess. You’ll feel more put together and may actually even get a compliment. Don’t underestimate the power of a compliment from another woman. It’s empowering.

See you on the playground. I’ll be sure to notice your shoes.

Cheryl~

7 comments

  1. Mew · April 15, 2010

    You were looking quite sassy in black and white this morning (I was turning the corner and running late)!

    Did you consider linking your blog to this:
    http://myupperwest.com/upper-west-side-bloggers/

  2. UpperWestSideCheryl · April 15, 2010

    Thanks Mew! Yep, I was going to contact them once I get a little more content up here.

  3. cmt · April 16, 2010

    totally agree. I propose a ban on flip flops beyond the gym locker room or beach. nothing makes me nuttier than the sight of some flip-flopping chick slap slapping her way down a NYC sidewalk.

  4. Marinka · April 18, 2010

    I just bought my first pair of Lululemon pants. They were so expensive, I’d get married in them if I could.

    • UpperWestSideCheryl · April 19, 2010

      They put some sort of chemical in the spandex that gives you euphoria. You have to pay extra for that…

  5. Kindra · April 18, 2010

    Love it! So well said (though, don’t come visit me in Montauk – you would very disappointed….)

  6. Scott · April 20, 2010

    Do you have the horror of people shopping in their pyjamas? All to common in the UK. Another hot mess you don’t want to get into.

Leave a Reply

