CFDA Awards at Lincoln Center Last Night

Marc Jacobs' collection gracing the steps of Lincoln Center (Image stolen from Fashionista.com's Twitter feed. I'm sure they won't mind)

Well, despite the fact that I’m the self-appointed fashion watchdog of the UWS, I was somehow overlooked when the invites for the CFDA Awards were mailed. Or else the mail carrier lost it. I’m totally filing a complaint.

The CFDA Awards are the fashion equivalent of the Oscars. And they took place in Lincoln Center last night. I was glued to Twitter watching the pictures and comments rolling in. Perhaps I should have been down on 66th Street photographing the action, but I had my pajamas on by 6:45 pm.

There were many celebrities present (besides the designers, of course!) including Brooke Shields, Sarah Jessica Parker, Ed Westwick, Dakota Fanning, Jessica Biel, David Bowie & Iman, and Rachel Weisz. Emilie de Ravin from Lost was there, too, and I can only hope her hair was better than that fake wig rat’s nest she wore the whole last season.

But this was not about  Hollywood; it was about fashion. The winners were:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Marc Jacobs. Marc’s been sort of the Sally Fields of the CFDA Awards the last few years, with many nods but few wins. This year he did it, most likely on the strength of his amazing A/W 2010 collection. I don’t think I saw a single negative review written about that collection.

Accessory Designer of the Year: Alexis Bittar. He makes huge funky Lucite jewelry which I can’t afford, but merely admire from afar.

Emerging Womenswear Designer of the Year: Jason Wu. First lady favorite, and soon to be classic designer, if he can keep up the momentum.

Emerging Accessory Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang. This does not surprise me one bit. I own not one, not two, but THREE of his bags, and one fabulous pair of open-toed, sky high booties. The man can flat out do shoes and bags.

Alexander McQueen was honored posthumously with a Special Tribute, with address given by SJP  wearing one of his stunning printed gowns. The adorable and witty Michael Kors took home the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. Iman received the Fashion Icon award.

Perhaps next year I can snag a spot as a seat saver.

Leave a Reply

