UWS Style is Heading to Chicago

I know, I know. It seems like all I do is travel. This has been a very unusual few months for me–lots of trips. Today I’m off to Chicago, my natal city. We are long overdue for a visit to family and friends. However, I don’t consider this a “vacation” per se, so my beloved Mac will be coming along and I’ll update here as often as I can without offending the people I’m supposed to be visiting. Most of them are used to me ignoring them, anyway. (Ha ha, right, Mom??)

I think I’ve been here in NYC long enough that I can call myself a New Yorker. However, in many ways I’m still a Chicagoan, and proud of it. I still don’t think it’s weird to hear soda called “pop,” I call sneakers “gym shoes,” and I stand IN a line, not ON it. And don’t even get me started on pizza. Sorry, floppy New York pizza. There’s also my slight accent, which completely reverts to “da Bears” when I’m around my family for any period of time. And unlike some native New Yorkers, I don’t believe 40 degree weather requires a down parka, scarf, and Uggs. I’ve maintained some of my Midwestern cold tolerance.

While I’m gone, please feel free to send me tips or pictures of any exciting things I miss here on the UWS (like the Puerto Rican Day Parade—TONS of notable style comes out that weekend).

Shoot me an email at : UWSstyle@gmail.com.  I’ll be happy to post anything of interest and I would love a guest blogger!

One comment

  1. Dad · June 12, 2010

    Gee, where you actually here all those times. I thought you just sent the kids!!

    Love,

    Dad

Leave a Reply

