Jeggings For Men: Oh, no.

First of all, I may need to provide a definition here. What is a jegging, you ask? It’s a deceptively simple equation, which as you shall see, is not always so simple to wear.  Jeans + legging = jeggings. Women have been wearing them for the last year or so. Well, some women have been wearing them. Some would rather be dipped into a vat of Axe Body Spray.

I’m in the “yes to jeggings” camp, with a few caveats: a) They must be the right size.  b)Your posterior should always be covered. Traditional jeggings are very stretchy denim usually having an elastic waistband.  Some brands just make a really stretchy jean made out of thinner denim, yet still having traditional jean styling and a zipper. It’s tricky territory, the jegging.

It’s men’s Fashion Week in Milan right now. I’m not sure many men on the UWS really know or care. And I’m fine with that. But then two things happened within days of each other, making me think that perhaps the sensibilities of Milan and uptown men are not so far apart.

Dear readers, I saw this man on the street the other day:

Yes, that is 91st and Broadway. And no, I’m not referring to the gentleman in the suit. Those are a dime a dozen up here.

The extreme tightness of those jeans caught my attention to the extent that I shoved my child out of the way and ran half a block to get this paparazzi-esque shot. I intended to write about him eventually. Then yesterday I saw this piece on Fashionista.com. Apparently designers on the Milan runways are showing a lot of skinny pants for guys.

There are very few guys that can pull this look off –pun intended. Jeggings for men come with all the issues that women’s do: unsightly muffin top, creases in weird places on your thighs. Men also have the issue of fertility. I mean, these are TIGHT. And as a veteran jegging wearer, I can assure you that they don’t breathe very well.

Guys, think carefully before you try this trend out.

7 comments

  1. R · June 22, 2010

    I’m confused – My favourite Melbourne suburb is positively infested with these jeans (for that is what they are meant to be). Mostly on legs which look like this ==o== (the ‘o’ is the knee). It’s good to see them on a more, er… stylish, frame. I do think this gentleman manages to wear them quite admirably 😉

  2. donmarco · December 13, 2010

    Agree, the ones that look a little funny are those with really skinny legs and of course if you are not in shape, don’t wear them. The comment that they don’t breath is ridiculous and anyone who thinks that tight fitting jeans or jeggings are uncomfortable has tried on the wrong type/brand since with stretch, these are the most comfortable jeans ever.

  3. Faithg · December 19, 2010

    Guys wearing jeggings is always a no no but guys wearing skinny jeans has been around for years especially for teens who are into the punk rock thing. I dont mind the skinny jeans but men wearing jeggings is a definite fashion dont!!!!

  4. erick · February 13, 2011

    lol, ive been wearing the tightest MALE pants i can find for the past 4 years and i’ll have you know i would’nt do it if it didnt look good.

  5. silver · March 4, 2011

    I have to agree with donmarco. Anyone who says they aren’t comfortable hasn’t tried them. My jeggings are the most comfortable jeans I have. And whether you are man or woman, they just plain look good.

  6. marko · May 31, 2011

    Ive been running around in jeggings for a week now,
    Theyre the most comfortable jeans ever.
    The freedom of movement is priceless.

    • ONLYjeanslover · December 31, 2011

      I have been wearing women’s jeans for years because they are much more comfortable than men’s jeans. Now I like the feeling of jeggings!

Leave a Reply

