I’m Seeing Lady Gaga Tonight

One of my all time favorite Gaga looks: Diet Coke coiffure

Lady Gaga is playing at Madison Square Garden tonight, and I’m going to the show. I suppose that officially makes me one of her monsters. Which suits me just fine.

It’s hard to pin down exactly what makes her so fascinating. First of all, she grew up in the 70s between Amsterdam and Columbus. She’s an Upper West Side girl, tweaked by a Catholic education on the Upper East Side. She should be in law school somewhere engaged to the valedictorian.

Instead she is a gay icon, a pop star, an avant garde fashion fan. Her songs are catchy, but not necessarily special. Her persona and her ability to entertain makes them stand out. And do I even need to mention her shoe choices? She’s fearless yet vulnerable, a sex symbol that makes us slightly uncomfortable. She’s been compared to Madonna a million times. Perhaps there are similarities–the ambition, the willingness to shock. In this era of  Disneyfied manufactured pop stars (hi, Jonas Brothers and Justin Bieber) I like the edge she brings.

I’ll be singing my head off tonight and will hopefully get some good pictures.  Now to the important part—what to wear?? It’s going to be in the 90s again, but I really can’t let the weather dictate whether or not I am fabulous.

I have two accessories that I need to break out. These shoes have tried to kill me on several occasions. They are probably the perfect shoes for Gaga:

These shoes have kicked my ass on multiple occasions

Then there are these earrings, recently purchased. I can’t pass up anything with a bit of sparkle:

The sparkliness cannot be appreciated in two dimensions

I’ll probably anchor these two excessive accessories with a loose black dress. Short, of course. It’s Gaga, for heaven’s sake.

4 comments

  1. Caveat Calcei · July 7, 2010

    Ah – those are Gaga shoes… you have to be able to dance but still be aware of the pain. Good choice Cheryl.
    What track(s) are burling round and round in your head?

    PS I am beyond jealous. I swithered about paying money to see her when she was supporting the Pussycat Dolls in Australia (hate them) but am kicking myself up the arse with spikey stilettos now.

    • UpperWestSideCheryl · July 8, 2010

      She closed with “Bad Romance.” AMAZING. Even more amazing were the costumes people wore. Pics to come soon. You must try to catch her

  2. ekc · July 8, 2010

    Hey! I love your blog!! I read every post! I’m going to see Lady Gaga too on the 23rd! The shoes are great. I think you could top it off by super moussing your short blond hair and adding heavy eye makeup. I am considering rolling my hair in diet coke cans…

    • UpperWestSideCheryl · July 8, 2010

      Thank you!!! If you want to fit in the audience, you better wear some wacky outfit. It was nuts.

Leave a Reply

