I’m Running the 2010 New York City Marathon

My new Sauconys, my running shoe of choice. In pink! And yes, I have a tattoo.

Yes, it’s true. The last marathon I ran was Chicago, in 1999. So I’m a little rusty. And older. And have crunchier knees. But I have a very big birthday coming up this year, so thought it would be a nice way to say “Eff you, impending middle age” and really prove that I am still spry and young and nubile. Hopefully it won’t end with me  in traction nursing two knee replacements.

MILo and I are both running the marathon as a fund-raising opportunity. We are running for Hope & Heroes, which directly benefits children and families undergoing treatment for childhood cancer at the Children’s Hospital of New York Presbyterian. As a nurse practitioner in pediatric bone marrow transplant at the same institution, I meet many of these families when they come to us for a transplant. Many of them come from the Washington Heights neighborhood and are quite impoverished.

I am going to be running in memory of some of my favorite patients, and will provide more information about them and the program (which includes, yes, hitting you up for money!) in upcoming posts.

In the meantime, I only have four months to plan my marathon outfit. You can be quite certain it won’t be a running skirt and will likely involve the color pink. And possibly be sparkly.

5 comments

  1. Shirlsmor · July 19, 2010

    Count me in for advice on the pink sparkly stuff. Oh. And some money, too.

  2. Caveat Calcei · July 19, 2010

    I’ll sponsor you but you have to promise not to hurt yourself during training or the event itself :/

  3. Anthony Burich · July 20, 2010

    I’d also love to contribute to the cause, please let me know how. Dig the tattoo!

  4. UpperWestSideCheryl · July 21, 2010

    Thank you, everyone!! More info to come

  5. Dad · July 27, 2010

    Good for you & Milo! Let me know how to get you some ca$h! I’m in – hell I’ll use some of my unemployment check to help out!

    I can tell you having bad knees is NOT a fun thing but they have some very nice drugs now to help. They worked fine for me recently for a week of kayaking & biking in the Northwoods!

Leave a Reply

