Holiday Nail Color Does Not Need To Be Red

Image courtesy of shortnchic.blogspot.com

I’ve been reading the December Bible–aka Vogue–which has proclaimed that the hot nail color for winter and the holidays is a steely silvery grey. Think molten metal.

I love metallics and I hate red nails, so I will happily go along with this trend. Red is festive and traditional, but it is also boring and can skew dowdy.

I don’t really have nail salon loyalty. There are so many in the neighborhood that I will pop into wherever happens to be close to where I am when I decide I need a mani. But I’ve been going to  All Seasons Nails and Spa (2566 Broadway, b/w 96th and 97th) a lot lately. Someone usually gives you a great shoulder rub while you’re getting lacquered.

Anyway, two manis ago I discovered OPI’s “Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous,” pictured above. It’s from the Swiss collection. Obviously. It’s a marvelous dark platinum with perfect sparkle. I will rock this through New Year’s Eve, then wait until Vogue tells me what I should do next.

Leave a Reply

