Happy New Year! Now Go Do Something Big in 2011….

Please indulge me today and allow me a little narcissistic introspection.

It’s that time of the year again, when we’re supposed to take stock of the previous year and set goals for the year to come. Normally I drink some champagne on New Year’s Eve and make a lame vow to finally lose five pounds or cook more homemade meals. 2010-2011 feels different, though.

After deciding that a few toxins needed to be removed this morning, I headed to Omar’s Powerstrike class (Equinox, 76th and Amsterdam) and punched and kicked the demons (and maybe that five pounds??) away. Afterwards, I started resolving.

There’s a website called 43Things, in which you are supposed to list your resolutions and people will support you in reaching your goals. I suspect some people aren’t entirely serious about the site, like the guy who listed “get my wife to cuckold me.” I can really get behind the person who wants to “get rid of the clogged pores on my face,” though. Anyway, I figured that I already have a platform from which to overshare my deepest, darkest wishes, so here are a few for 2011:

  1. Cook more homemade meals. (Seriously. I really need to.)
  2. Pitch stories to scarier, bigger publications and really put myself out there, rejection be damned. My amazing 28-year-old editor at Fashionista has taught me to have more self-confidence and faith in my abilities. She’s a hard ass.
  3. Learn how to use my new DSLR camera. ALL the settings, not just the auto setting.
  4. Budget better. (MILo is probably having an aneurysm because of the shock of reading that.)
  5. Have more patience with my family. All of them.
  6. Avoid toxic people and influences. (My US Weekly subscription possibly falls under this category, but I can’t let go of that quite yet.)

There’s a lot more than this, but I’ve probably already bored you to tears. Plus I need to go figure out what to wear to a “Hot Tub Time Machine Aspen 1980’s” themed New Year’s Eve party tonight.

All I have to say is: don’t underestimate me, 2011.

4 comments

  1. Shirlsmor · December 31, 2010

    I am keeping the faith. In you.

  2. Mary · January 2, 2011

    RE: Learning how to use your DSLR camera, check out the classes at the JCC. I took a beginning DSLR class there. It was a small class and we learned the basics. It was just what I needed!

    • UpperWestSideCheryl · January 2, 2011

      Thank you! That’s a great idea. I always forget that the JCC has adult classes.

Leave a Reply

