Equinox Buys SoulCycle and Is Opening A Larger Upper West Side Outpost

The New York Post reports today that Equinox officially bought SoulCycle, the indoor cycling studios with a culty vibe and celebrity following. According to the Post report, nine locations are going to be added to the current six.

The current small cramped Upper West Side location on West 72nd street will be closed and a 2,000 square foot outpost will open in the Harrison (205 W. 76th Street).

OK, so let’s discuss this. I am a long-time member of Equinox and also a spinning enthusiast. I tried SoulCycle when it first opened, but didn’t go back because at the time I was loyal to a few instructors at Equinox–who eventually left to go teach at SoulCycle becuase it was cooler. Or something.  I still didn’t join SoulCycle because I am lazy, couldn’t deal with the frenzy of signing up for classes there, and didn’t want the added cost of another gym membership.

Things have really come full circle, eh? It will be interesting to see if Equinox offers any benefits to its current members, or if the quality of the spinning staff at Equinox will pick up at all. (I wasn’t referring to you, Constance! I *heart you!)

3 comments

  1. Brodsky Organization · June 14, 2011

    First of all, congratulations to both SoulCycle and Equinox on their latest business endeavor. I’m sure their new and improved location on the Upper West Side will be able to cater to the various needs of many. The larger space will surely be a benefit to the frenzy you mentioned, and you (and many other followers) will now have greater access to their favorite trainers. Sounds like a positive change in our neighborhood!

  2. Beth @ Upper West Side Mom · June 15, 2011

    Great blog! I doubt that they will offer any benefits to Equinox members because they didn’t when they opened Pure. I have a love/hate relationship with Equinox and this is one of the many reasons why.

    • UpperWestSideCheryl · June 16, 2011

      Thank you, and I totally agree. They keep raising prices without offering me anything better. Don’t even get me started on the childcare situation there…

Leave a Reply

